One of my favourite singer songwriters once wrote “There is nothing new, only forgotten” and today is an object lesson in short term memory loss.
Once again facebook scammers are fooling users en masse into believing that they can find out who has been checking their profile pages. You may notice several of your friends posting something like the below at the moment:
It’s a variation on a theme I blogged about only three months ago but it seems the attraction has not worn off. As I said back then, there is no officially sanctioned Facebook functionality that will allow you to view who has been checking your profile. Don’t click the links, don’t install the app.
If you do authorise this scamware you will be asked to grant permission for the app to post to your wall and to access your information.
Unless of course you’re using Trend Micro, in which case you’ll see this…
I have informed Facebook incident handlers of this latest ruse and doubtless it will be gone very soon.